Legislator of the Year

WSCA Recognizes Outstanding Professionals

Meyers Awarded Jerome Henning Legislator Award

Representative Beth Meyers – 2021 Jerome Henning Legislator Award

Madison, WI – State Representative Beth Meyers (D-Bayfield) has been recognized with the Jerome Henning Legislator Award by the Wisconsin School Counselor Association.

The Jerome Henning Legislator Award is given out each year to recognize those members of the legislature who have made significant contributions to the school counseling profession. Representative Meyers was chosen for her work supporting school counselors in northern Wisconsin.

Representative Meyer’s nominator, Rachel Pufall shared, “Representative Meyers has personally contacted me to get school counselor insight on legislation that impacts students and schools. She shows a true willingness to get all perspectives before she makes a vote on anything that impacts schools and students in northern Wisconsin.”

Every February, the Wisconsin School Counselor Association recognizes individuals within the school counseling profession who demonstrate profound impact on the school counseling profession and lives of students. Nominations for the Legislator  Award are submitted to the Wisconsin School Counselor Association Professional Recognition & Scholarship Committee and are rated by a committee of active and retired school counselors. Award recipients are determined based off of their contributions to the school counseling program, leadership, and service to their community. The organization selects one Legislator  to receive this award. This year, award winners were recognized on February 4, 2021 during WSCA’s National School Counseling Week “Virtual” Breakfast Celebration.